WARSAW, Poland Republic
Territory: 517 sq. km.

Population: 1709,7 thousand  people (2009)

Religion: Catholicism
Geographic position

Warsaw is situated on the bank of the Vistula, in Mozovetsky lowland, 100 m below the sea level.
Climate of Warsaw is moderately continental, with mild winter and warm wet summer. Climate of Warsaw is one of the most comfortable among the cities of moderate area, the temperature higher than +30˚ C is rare in summer and these periods are very short, the frosts more than –15˚ C are also rare. Autumn is long and warm, spring comes gradually.


The name of the city appeared in manuscripts of XIV century as Warseuiensis (1321) and Varschewia (1342), in XV century it was written as Warschouia (1482).
There is a folk opinion that the name Warszawa appeared as a result of uniting of the fisher’s name Wars and the mermaid’s who he had married one Sawa. The image of mermaid Sawa became a symbol of Warsaw.
There is a legend about Warsaw foundation. A prince (landlord) Cazimir lost his way while hunting and found a fisher’s hut. There was a young fisher’s wife who had born two twins names Wars and Sawa. Cazimir became their godfather and praised the fisher’s family for hospitality. The fisher built a house for the money and other fishers started to settle around it. And it was the beginning of Warsaw.
According to the existing documents since X century there were several settlements located on the territory of modern Warsaw. The most powerful was named Bródno (that means wade, crossing) and Jazdów kamion. In spite of that the first wooden buildings in Warsaw had been built by Lithuanians by the XII century. Stone buildings had been built to defend the settlement of Teutonic knights by the XIV century.
In the beginning of XV-XVI centuries Warsaw was a capital of Mazovetsky princedom, in 1596-1795 the city was a residence of Polish kings and grand princes of Lithuania, in 1791-1795 it became a capital of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, in 1807-13 it was a capital of Warsaw princedom (under French protectorate in fact), in 1815-1915 it was a capital of Polish kingdom (as a part of Russian Empire). In 1918-1939 Warsaw was a capital of Poland Republic and in 1944 to 1989 it was a capital of Polish People Republic.  .
In the period of occupation of 1939-1944 during the World War II the administrative center of Governorate General was located in Krakow. The center of Warsaw was ruined completely by Nazi with bombing of 1939 and repression of the revolt in 1944. 
Since 1989 Warsaw has been a capital of modern Poland Republic. After the World War II the city was restored carefully and as a perfect example of scientific restoration was included into the register of the World Inheritance sights of UNESCO.

A part of Warsaw in Polish economics is 15 % of GDP. Unemployment is  1,8 % % (X 2008).

Education and culture

There are about a half of million of students and pupils in the city (estimation, 2002 — 29 % of population of the city)More than 250000 of them are the students of higher educational institutions.  
There is the National Museum (with K.Dunikovskiy museum), archeology museum in Warsaw. The International music festival “Warsaw Autumn” organized by Tadeush Berd and Cazimir Serotsky in 1956 is held.

Partner cities

Administration of the city pays great attention to the international cooperation. In different years partner treaties were signed with the cities of different countries: Coventry, Great Britain (1957), San-Diego, USA (1960), Chicago, USA (1960), Madrid, Spain (1981), Dusseldorf, Germany (1989), Khamamatsu, Japan (1990), region Ile-de-France, France (1990), Toronto, Canada (1990), Berlin, Germany (1991), Hague, Netherlands (1991), Istanbul, Turkey (1991), Tel-Aviv, Israel (1992), Harbin, China (1993), Moskva, Russia (1993), Kiev, Ukraine (1994), Taipei, China (1995), Saint-Etienne, France (1995), Seoul, Korea Republic (1996), St. Petersburg, Russia (1997), Groznyy, Russia (1997), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (1997), Vilnius, Lithuania (1998), Paris, France (1999), Hanoi, Vietnam (2000), Vienna, Austria (2001), Riga, Latvia (2002), Astana, Kazakhstan (2002), Riga, Latvia (2002), Astana, Kazakhstan (2002), Oslo, Norway (2005), Budapest, Hungary (2005), Bangkok, Thailand (2010), Kharkiv, Ukraine (2011).

Development of twin relations between Kharkiv and Warsaw
The agreement of friendship and cooperation between Kharkiv and Warsaw was signed on the 2nd of February of 2011.